From a Prospectus to a Dissertation Draft: My Reflections on the PhD Process – Part 1

Norman Paterson School of International Affairs

Below, is part one of a five-part series on the dos and don’ts of thesis writing by PhD Candidate Eric Jardine.

Part I. The Lulls

I have now submitted the final “draft” of my dissertation, which will be sent out to my committee and my two external examiners. It has been a long haul. I have been in the PhD program at NPSIA for five years now. Since I have the next several weeks to sit on my hands and wait for my defence (should one go ahead), I decided to briefly put down my thoughts on the dissertation process, particularly how to get from a prospectus to a finished draft.

My first thought on the matter involves what I would call the milestone productivity lulls. As the name implies, these lulls in activity can happen every time you reach a milestone, and there are many in a project the…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

